Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Villains

Hey hey hey! I am back for another Top 5 Wednesday! I’m a day late (again) with this one. Anyway, if you have no idea what T5W or Top 5 Wednesday is, it’s a weekly meme created by the fabulous Lainey of Gingerreadslainey but is now being hosted by another fabulous person, Sam of Thoughtsontomes. It’s a really fun group! So if you’re interested, you can check it here.

boarded

The month-ender topic is really exciting. It’s about your favorite villains. You would think that this would be easy, but it’s not. The moment I read what the topic was, I immediately wrote the top 5 villains in just a snap. But as the days gone by, I started to recall other great villains I encountered. So I kept on editing and editing, replacing name after name, deciding on which one was better. Now that I have finally decided, here’s my top 5 favorite villains.

T5W_02.jpg

5. Ms. Agatha Truncbull from Matilda by Roald Dahl

Man this woman was intense. Matilda was my favorite childhood book. So imagine little me all excited when I finally got the chance to watch the movie. Oh the thrill of seeing young Matilda and her friends. But then I see Ms. Trunchbull and it scared the living hell of me. She was just a horrid woman, all big and scary, terrorizing little kids. I even remember liking her in the book because I never thought children’s books would have a great villain like her, that’s what made her got into this list.

4. Luke Castellan from Percy Jackson and Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

He is one of the most underappreciated characters in this series. During the days of my PJO obsession, I was so mad at Luke. I was like “why would you help the bad guys? Do you not like being a demigod at all?!”  but after some time, on my third or fourth time re-reading this series, I actually felt bad for him instead of being mad. I realized where his anger was coming from and why he had to do all those stuff to his friends. He was both a villain and a hero for me.

3. Dorothy Gale from Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige

If you’ve read this book, you’d understand why. We all love the original version of Dorothy; the one where she’s all kind and lovable to everyone she’s surrounded with. But in this book, it was like a twisted version of her; all mad with greed and drunk with magic. What makes me like her as a villain compared to the “goody-goody” one is that you just get to see the rawness of her vulnerability and how she just snapped and decided she wanted more for herself that led her into becoming a villain.

2. Bellatrix Lestrange from Harry Potter by J.K Rowling

I know that T5W post said to avoid Harry Potter villains but I just can’t. It’s impossible not to include any of them. Of course, Bellatrix would be the way to go but I also debated on whether to put Umbridge instead of Bellatrix. But then I remembered I hated Umbridge, and that I don’t like her one bit, compared to Bellatrix. So why Bellatrix and not Snape or Voldemort or Lucius Malfoy? Not because she’s insane or anything, it’s because I am fascinated by her; everything about her. I wanted to know how she ended up being locked up in Azkaban, why her loyalty to the Dark Lord became an obsession and of course, how she became nuts. Oh and I just love how she terrorizes Hermione.

1. Levana Blackburn from The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

Everything that makes Queen Levana a villain is worthy of the number one spot in my list of favorite villains. She had that “evil step mother” vibe I always wanted in a villain, especially in this one, because it’s a fairy tale retelling. Levana was wicked but with class, she knew when to strike and how to hurt the one’s you love. And did I mention I adored how Marissa Meyer wrote a novella about her; her struggles on what turned her into the woman she is and how she ended being the villain in Cinder’s story. Levana was the cherry on top of my villains. I both hated and loved her so much.

boarded

Villains are underappreciated characters in a story. We are too blinded by the magnitude of importance of the protagnist that we don’t realize that the main character wouldn’t have a purpose to tell its story without a villain.

I hope you enjoyed reading this as I enjoyed writing this one. I apologize if I’m a day late again, I should really get the hang of this. If we have something in common in our lists, I would love to hear your thoughts. Comment them down and let’s chat!

signature

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Villains

Leave a Reply

